The Assembly

The Assembly is the name given to ACUS’s 101 statutory members—called “Voting Members”— meeting in plenary session. It is comprised of the Chairman, 10 Council Members, 50 Government Members, and 40 Public Members. Government Members are agency heads or their designees drawn from a wide array of federal agencies. Public Members are academics, practicing lawyers, and other experts in administrative procedure drawn from the private sector. The composition of the Assembly is provided for in the Administrative Conference Act

ACUS’s Bylaws provide for three types of Non-Voting Members: Senior Fellows, who are mostly former Voting Members; Special Counsels, who are lawyers who advise the membership in their areas of expertise; and Liaison Representatives, who represent entities with which ACUS has entered into a liaison arrangement to enhance its deliberations, such as federal courts, agencies unrepresented in the Assembly, and professional associations. Non-Voting Members have the privilege of debate, but may not vote, at plenary sessions.