The ten-member Council is composed of government officials and private citizens. All are appointed by the President for three-year terms. Executive Director Matthew L. Wiener has been appointed as Vice Chair for ACUS.

The Council is responsible for calling plenary sessions, proposing bylaws and regulations for adoption by the Assembly, reviewing budgetary proposals and approving the appointment of public members and the conducting of research studies.  

Federal officials named to the Council may constitute no more than one-half of the total Council membership. 

Current Council Members