ACUS Governance & Members

The Council

The ten-member ACUS Council is composed of government officials and private citizens. All Council members are appointed by the President for three-year terms. The President also designates the Vice Chairman.

Executive Director Matthew L. Wiener currently serves as the appointed Vice Chairman for ACUS.

The Council is responsible for calling plenary sessions, proposing bylaws and regulations for adoption by the Assembly, reviewing budgetary proposals and approving the appointment of public members and the conducting of research studies.  

Federal officials named to the Council may constitute no more than one-half of the total Council membership. 

Current Council Members

Roster and Bios of Current ACUS Council members.

The Assembly

The Assembly is the name given to ACUS’s 101 statutory members—called “Voting Members”— meeting in plenary session. It is comprised of the Chairman, 10 Council Members, 50 Government Members, and 40 Public Members. Government Members are agency heads or their designees drawn from a wide array of federal agencies. Public Members are academics, practicing lawyers, and other experts in administrative procedure drawn from the private sector. The composition of the Assembly is provided for in the Administrative Conference Act

ACUS’s Bylaws provide for three types of Non-Voting Members: Senior Fellows, who are mostly former Voting Members; Special Counsels, who are lawyers who advise the membership in their areas of expertise; and Liaison Representatives, who represent entities with which ACUS has entered into a liaison arrangement to enhance its deliberations, such as federal courts, agencies unrepresented in the Assembly, and professional associations. Non-Voting Members have the privilege of debate, but may not vote, at plenary sessions.

Voting Members

Non-voting Members


Questions and comments for ACUS Council Members should be sent to