Judicial Review

The Committee on Judicial Review addresses statutory and case law concerning court review of administrative actions. It also may examine those aspects of administrative procedure that affect the effectiveness or availability of judicial review.

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair
William R. Orthwein Distinguished Professor of Law
Washington University School of Law
314.935.6490 levin@wulaw.wustl.edu
Staff Counsel

Committee Meetings & Events

Committee Research Projects

No Results.

Recommendation 2013-4 – Administrative Record in Informal Rulemaking offers best practices for agencies in the compilation, preservation, and certification of records in...

Read more »

The Congressional Review Act (“CRA”) implements a process for Congressional review of agency rules.  5 U.S.C. §§ 801-08.  Under the CRA, agencies must submit rules to both houses of Congress and...

Read more »

Statement # 19 (Adopted September 25, 2015) examines judicial application of an issue exhaustion requirement in preenforcement review of administrative...

Read more »

Committee Members

Name Role Organization
Ronald M. Levin Committee Chair, Public Member Washington University School of Law
Priya R. Aiyar Government Member Department of the Treasury
Boris Bershteyn Public Member Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
Betty Jo Christian Senior Fellow Steptoe & Johnson LLP
Caroline Fredrickson Public Member American Constitution Society for Law and Policy
Paul D. Kamenar Senior Fellow Washington Legal Foundation
Brett M. Kavanaugh Liaison Representative U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit
Andy Liu Government Member Social Security Administration
Mary C. McQueen Liaison Representative National Center for State Courts
David Morris Michaels Government Member Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Stephanie A. Middleton Liaison Representative The American Law Institute
Jeffrey P. Minear Liaison Representative Judicial Conference of the United States
Alan B. Morrison Senior Fellow The George Washington University Law School
S. Jay Plager Senior Fellow U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
Jill Sayenga Liaison Representative Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts
Eugene Scalia Public Member Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Lois J. Schiffer Liaison Representative National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
David Shonka Government Member Federal Trade Commission
Jonathan Siegel Public Member George Washington University Law School
Judith R. Starr Liaison Representative Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
Kate Comerford Todd Public Member U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Allison M. Zieve Public Member Public Citizen Litigation Group