Working Group on Model Rules of Representative Conduct

In Recommendation 2021-9Regulation of Representatives in Agency Adjudicative Proceedings, the Administrative Conference of the United States recommended that the ACUS Office of the Chairman “consider promulgating model rules of conduct” consistent with the Recommendation and, in doing so, “seek the input of a diverse array of agency officials and members of the public, including representatives who appear before agencies, and the American Bar Association.”

The Office of the Chairman has convened a Working Group of public- and private-sector representatives to develop model rules of representative conduct that, as contemplated by Recommendation 2021-9, “account for variation in agency practice and afford agencies the flexibility to determine which rules apply to their adjudicative proceedings.” The resulting model rules are intended to help federal agencies amend or develop their rules governing representatives in adjudicative proceedings consistent with the best practices identified in Recommendation 2021-9.


Working Group Members and Associated Individuals

Reporter: Louis J. Virelli III, Professor of Law, Stetson University College of Law

Staff Counsel: Matthew A. Gluth, Deputy Research Director, Administrative Conference of the U.S.


  • Erin M. Wirth (Chair), Chief Administrative Law Judge, Federal Maritime Commission

  • David Camp, Chief Policy Officer, National Organization of Social Security Claimants’ Representatives

  • George M. Cohen, Associate Dean for Curricular Programs and Brokaw Professor of Corporate Law, University of Virginia School of Law

  • Stefanie K. Davis, Senior Associate General Counsel and Ethics Officer, Office of Legal Affairs, Legal Services Corporation 

  • William Funk, Lewis & Clark Distinguished Professor of Law Emeritus, Lewis & Clark Law School

  • Jeremy S. Graboyes, Research Director, Administrative Conference of the U.S.

  • Allyson N. Ho, Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

  • Karen A. Lash, Senior Fellow, Georgetown Justice Lab

  • Jean M. Mauss, Transformation Officer, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs, U.S. Department of Labor

  • Wendy J. Muchman, Harry B. Reese Professor of Practice, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law  

  • Nina E. Olson, Executive Director, Center for Taxpayer Rights

  • David Pang, Administrative Law Judge, Social Security Administration

  • Diane Boyd Rauber, Executive Director, National Organization of Veterans' Advocates

  • Lauren Alder Reid, Assistant Director, Office of Policy, Executive Office for Immigration Review, U.S. Department of Justice

  • Roxanne L. Rothschild, Executive Secretary, National Labor Relations Board

  • James J. Sandman, Distinguished Lecturer and Senior Consultant to the Future of the Profession Initiative, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School; President Emeritus, Legal Services Corporation

  • Anthony C. Scire, Chief Counsel and Veterans Law Judge, Board of Veterans’ Appeals, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

  • William A. Stock, Partner, Klasko Immigration Law Partners, LLP

Project Documents

Get Project Notifications

Subscribe to receive notices of new meetings, project and document updates to the page.