Collaborative Governance

The Committee on Collaborative Governance is concerned with collaborative techniques that agencies use to implement their programs. This area includes activities that build on the Conference’s extensive history of developing consensual processes such as negotiated rulemaking and alternative means of dispute resolution, as well as appropriate use of new communications media in federal programs.

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair
Senior Fellow
IBM Center for the Business of Government
Staff Counsel

Committee Research Projects

The need for improvement in negotiated rulemaking, interagency coordination, and retrospective review by the agencies that administer grants and other federal programs at American universities has...

Read more »

Recommendation 2011-7, The Federal Advisory Committee Act—Issues and Proposed Reforms, addresses the issue of whether the Federal Advisory Committee Act (“FACA”) is functioning...

Read more »

Recommendation 2012-5 addresses the problem of overlapping and fragmented procedures associated with assigning multiple agencies similar or related functions, or dividing authority among agencies...

Read more »

Recommendation 2014-1, Resolving FOIA Disputes Through Targeted ADR Strategies, addresses more effective use of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) approaches to help resolve disputes...

Read more »

Committee Members

Name Role Organization
John M. Kamensky Committee Chair, Public Member IBM Center for the Business of Government
Allison Beck Liaison Representative Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
Daniel Cohen Government Member Department of Energy
Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar Public Member Supreme Court of California
Chai R. Feldblum Government Member Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Brian C. Griffin Senior Fellow Clean Energy Systems, Inc.
Philip J. Harter Public Member Vermont Law School
Michael E. Herz Public Member Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law
Alice Kottmyer Government Member Department of State
Katie L. Nash Liaison Representative Office of the Director of National Intelligence
Nina Olson Liaison Representative Internal Revenue Service Office of the National Taxpayer Advocate
Suzanne Orenstein Liaison Representative Udall Foundation, U.S. Institute for Environmental Conflict Resolution
Sallyanne Payton Senior Fellow University of Michigan Law School
Alasdair S. Roberts Public Member Truman School of Public Affairs, University of Missouri
Kenneth W. Starr Senior Fellow Baylor University
Gary Stern Government Member National Archives and Records Administration
Edward L. Weidenfeld Senior Fellow The Weidenfeld Law Firm, P.C.