The Committee on Rulemaking considers the procedures that agencies use to promulgate, modify or rescind regulations.

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair
Edward B. Shils Professor of Law and Professor of Political Science; Director, Penn Program on Regulation
University of Pennsylvania Law School

Committee Meetings & Events

April 27, 2018 Committee Meeting (Committee on Rulemaking)

April 27, 2018 - 1:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

September 17, 2015 Committee Meeting (Committee on Rulemaking)

September 17, 2015 - 2:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

October 23, 2014 Committee Meeting (Committee on Rulemaking)

October 23, 2014 - 1:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

October 7, 2014 Committee Meeting (Committee on Rulemaking)

October 7, 2014 - 2:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

Committee Research Projects

No Results.

Recommendation 2014-4 – “Ex Parte” Communications in Informal Rulemaking provides guidance and best practices to agencies for managing "ex parte" communications between...

Read more »

Recommendation 2011-8 – Agency Innovations in e-Rulemaking addresses how Federal agency rulemaking can be improved by better use of Internet-based technologies. The...

Read more »

Recommendation 2017-6 – Learning from Regulatory Experience, formerly titled Regulatory Experimentation, offers advice to agencies on learning from different...

Read more »

Committee Members

Name Role Organization
Cary Coglianese Committee Chair, Public Member University of Pennsylvania Law School
Gary D. Bass Senior Fellow The Bauman Foundation
Emily Bremer Public Member University of Wyoming College of Law
Ilona R. Cohen Public Member Aledade, Inc.
Daniel Cohen Government Member Department of Energy
Peter Constantine Government Member Department of Labor
Steven P. Croley Public Member Latham & Watkins LLC
Peter Davidson Government Member Department of Commerce
Elizabeth Dickinson Government Member Food and Drug Administration
Neil R. Eisner Senior Fellow
Andrew Emery Special Counsel The Regulatory Group, Inc.
Cynthia R. Farina Senior Fellow Cornell Law School
Ronald S. Flagg Liaison Representative Legal Services Corporation
Michael E. Herz Senior Fellow Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law
Richard J. Hipolit Government Member Department of Veterans Affairs
Sally Katzen Senior Fellow New York University School of Law
Robert Keith Government Member Department of Health and Human Services
Katia Kroutil Liaison Representative Coast Guard
Hilary Malawer Government Member Department of Education
Jerry L. Mashaw Senior Fellow Yale Law School
Randolph J. May Senior Fellow Free State Foundation
Nina Mendelson Senior Fellow University of Michigan Law School
Nicholas R. Parrillo Public Member Yale Law School
Richard J. Pierce, Jr. Senior Fellow The George Washington University Law School
David M. Pritzker Special Counsel
Teresa Wynn Roseborough Senior Fellow The Home Depot
Anna W. Shavers Public Member University of Nebraska College of Law
Carol Ann Siciliano Government Member Environmental Protection Agency
Lon Smith Senior Fellow
Kevin M. Stack Public Member Vanderbilt University Law School
Thomas M. Susman Liaison Representative American Bar Association, Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice Section
Kathryn Watts Public Member University of Washington School of Law
Adam J. White Public Member Center for the Study of the Administrative State, George Mason University; The Hoover Institution Stanford University
Stephen Wood Liaison Representative National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Answer this question to help us prevent spam:
Question text provided by

Asterisks (*) indicate required information.

Having problems submitting this form? You can provide this information via telephone at 202-480-2080