Administrative Conference Appoints New Public Members and Senior Fellows

Contact: Harry M. Seidman
Phone: 202. 480. 2085

Administrative Conference Appoints New Public Members and Senior Fellows
Renowned Experts Will Work to Improve the Administrative Process

Washington, D.C., August 10, 2020 – The Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS) today announced the appointment of the following eight new public members and two new senior fellows. 

Public Members
•    David Freeman Engstrom, Professor of Law; Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives; Bernard D. Bergreen Faculty Scholar, Stanford Law School
•    Emily Hammond, Jeffrey and Martha Kohn Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Glen Earl Weston Research Professor, The George Washington University School of Law
•    Erika Lietzan, Associate Professor of Law, University of Missouri School of Law
•    Elbert Lin, Partner, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
•    Jesse Panuccio, Partner, Boies Schiller Flexner LLP
•    Elizabeth P. Papez, Partner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP
•    Bertrall Ross, Chancellor’s Professor of Law, UC Berkeley School of Law
•    Ganesh Sitaraman, Chancellor Faculty Fellow; Professor of Law; Director, Program in Law and Government, Vanderbilt University 

Senior Fellows
•    Anne Joseph O’Connell, Adelbert H. Sweet Professor of Law, Stanford Law School
•    Catherine M. Sharkey, Crystal Eastman Professor of Law, New York University School of Law

ACUS welcomes these distinguished new members and thanks them for volunteering their time in the service of the Conference’s important mission to improve administrative procedure for the benefit of the American people.

About ACUS

The Administrative Conference of the United States is an independent federal agency dedicated to improving the administrative process through consensus-driven applied research and providing nonpartisan expert advice and recommendations for federal agency procedures. Its membership is composed of senior federal officials, academics, and other experts from the private sector. Except for the Chairman, all Conference Members are unpaid. 

The Conference is committed to promoting effective public participation and efficiency in the rulemaking process by leveraging interactive technologies and encouraging open communication with the public as well as making improvements to the regulatory process by reducing unnecessary litigation, and improving the use of science and the effectiveness of applicable laws.  Learn more at

# # #