Administrative Conference Appoints New Members


Contact:  Kathy Kyle
Administrative Conference Appoints New Members
Experts Donate Time and Expertise to Improve Government

Washington, D.C., August 31, 2011 – The Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS) today announced the appointment of senior fellows, public and liaison members to the Conference:

  • Fred Fielding, former White House Counsel;
  • David Vladeck, Director, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Federal Trade Commission;
  • John D. Graham, former Administrator, Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs;
  • Beth S. Noveck, former Director, White House Open Government Initiative; and
  • Nina E. Olson, National Taxpayer Advocate, Internal Revenue Service.

“We are honored that these experienced public servants have agreed to join the Conference and lend their incredible insight and experience to our cause,” said Paul R. Verkuil, Conference Chairman.

The Administrative Conference of the United States is an independent federal agency dedicated to improving the administrative process through consensus-driven applied research and providing nonpartisan expert advice and recommendations for improvement of federal agency procedures. Its membership is composed of innovative federal officials and experts with diverse views and backgrounds from both the private sector and academia.  With the exception of the Chairman, all Conference Members are unpaid.

Fred Fielding, partner at Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, joins the Conference as a Senior Fellow. Among the highlights of his distinguished legal career, Mr. Fielding served as the Counsel for Presidents Reagan and George W. Bush and Deputy Counsel for President Nixon. A former ACUS Public Member from 1987 to 1994, Mr. Fielding chaired the Conference’s Special Committee on Government Ethics Regulation.

David Vladeck, Director of the Bureau of Consumer Protection at the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), will also serve as a Senior Fellow. Mr. Vladeck has been a law professor at Georgetown and attorney practiced law with the Public Citizen Litigation Group. Mr. Vladeck previously served ACUS as a Public Member from 1990 to 1995.

John D. Graham is the Dean of the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University and served as the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (OIRA) Administrator from 2001 to 2006. Dean Graham will serve as a Public Member.

Beth S. Noveck was an ACUS Government Member while serving as the United States Deputy Chief Technology Officer and Director White House Open Government Initiative, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). Now a Professor of Law at New York Law School, Ms. Noveck will return to the Conference as a Public Member.

Nina E. Olson represents the Office of the National Taxpayer Advocate, Internal Revenue Service (IRS), where she serves as an advocate for taxpayers to the IRS and Congress. Prior to this role, Ms. Olson maintained a private law practice. Ms. Olsen joins the Conference as a Liaison Member.