The Committee on Rulemaking considers the procedures that agencies use to promulgate, modify or rescind regulations.

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair
Retired (Former U.S. Department of Transportation Assistant General Counsel for Regulation and Enforcement)
Staff Counsel

Committee Meetings & Events

September 17, 2015 Committee Meeting(Committee on Rulemaking)

September 17, 2015 - 2:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

October 23, 2014 Committee Meeting(Committee on Rulemaking)

October 23, 2014 - 1:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

October 7, 2014 Committee Meeting(Committee on Rulemaking)

October 7, 2014 - 2:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

Committee Research Projects


Federal agencies sometimes grant to regulated parties temporary or permanent “waivers” or “exemptions” (also sometimes referred to as “exceptions”) from regulatory requirements.  Legally and...

Read more »

Recommendation 2014-4 – “Ex Parte” Communications in Informal Rulemaking provides guidance and best practices to agencies for managing "ex parte" communications between...

Read more »

Recommendation 2011-8 – Agency Innovations in e-Rulemaking addresses ways in which agency innovations and best practices can engage the public in rulemaking activities at...

Read more »

Recommendation 2011-1 – Legal Considerations in e-Rulemaking addresses legal issues associated with e-rulemaking and recommends best practices in dealing with them. ...

Read more »

Committee Members

Name Role Organization
Neil R. Eisner Committee Chair, Senior Fellow
Gary D. Bass Public Member Bauman Foundation
Elizabeth Dickinson Government Member Food and Drug Administration
Tobias Dorsey Liaison Representative U.S. Sentencing Commission
Cynthia R. Farina Public Member Cornell Law School
Ronald S. Flagg Liaison Representative Legal Services Corporation
Meredith Fuchs Government Member Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Sally Katzen Senior Fellow The Podesta Group; New York University School of Law
Jerry L. Mashaw Public Member Yale Law School
Randolph J. May Public Member Free State Foundation
Elizabeth A.M. McFadden Government Member Department of Education
Nina Mendelson Public Member University of Michigan Law School
Rebecca Orban Liaison Representative Coast Guard
Lee Liberman Otis Public Member Federalist Society
Richard J. Pierce, Jr. Public Member The George Washington University Law School
Teresa Wynn Roseborough Public Member The Home Depot
Jeffrey A. Rosen Public Member Kirkland & Ellis LLP
William B. Schultz Government Member Department of Health and Human Services
Robert A. Shapiro Government Member Department of Labor
Anna W. Shavers Liaison Representative ABA Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice
Carol Ann Siciliano Government Member Environmental Protection Agency
Lon Smith Government Member Internal Revenue Service
Stephen Wood Liaison Representative National Highway Traffic Safety Administration