The Committee on Regulation studies procedures applicable to the control of private economic activity, including ways to reduce costs and increase effectiveness of agency programs.

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair
Stinson Morrison Hecker LLP
Staff Counsel
Staff Counsel

Committee Meetings & Events

October 25, 2016 Meeting(Committee on Regulation)

October 25, 2016 - 2:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States
October 25, 2016 Meeting

October 22, 2015 Committee Meeting(Committee on Regulation)

October 22, 2015 - 9:00 am EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

October 1, 2015 Committee Meeting(Committee on Regulation)

October 1, 2015 - 2:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

Committee Research Projects


Public-private partnerships are increasingly common as a means for federal agencies to address complex challenges.  At the federal level, infrastructure public-private partnerships have been the...

Read more »

Recommendation 2013-2 – Cost-Benefit Analysis highlights a series of best practices directed at independent regulatory agencies in the preparation of benefit-cost...

Read more »

Recommendation 2015-4 - Designing Federal Permitting Programs describes different types of permitting systems and provides factors for agencies to consider when designing...

Read more »
Recommendation 2014-2Government in the Sunshine Act highlights best practices designed to enhance transparency of decision making at multi-member boards and...
Read more »

Committee Members

Name Role Organization
H. Russell Frisby, Jr. Committee Chair, Public Member Stinson Morrison Hecker LLP
Paige Bullard Government Member Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
James Ming Chen Public Member Michigan State University
H. Clayton Cook Jr. Senior Fellow Cook Maritime Finance
Susan E. Dudley Senior Fellow George Washington University Regulatory Studies Center
E. Donald Elliott Senior Fellow Yale Law School/Covington & Burling LLP
Michael A. Fitzpatrick Public Member General Electric Company
George Frampton Public Member New Energy Strategy and Law
Amy S. Friend Government Member Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
Lisa Heinzerling Public Member Georgetown University
Alice Kottmyer Government Member Department of State
Demetrios L. Kouzoukas Public Member United HealthCare Medicare & Retirement
Dan Levinson Senior Fellow Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency
Charles Maresca Liaison Representative Small Business Administration Office of Advocacy
Christina E. McDonald Government Member Department of Homeland Security
David W. Ogden Senior Fellow Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr
Richard J. Osterman, Jr. Government Member Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Richard L. Revesz Senior Fellow New York University School of Law
Carrie F. Ricci Government Member Department of Agriculture
Jonathan Rose Senior Fellow Arizona State University, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
Sidney A. Shapiro Public Member Wake Forest University School of Law
Catherine M. Sharkey Public Member New York University School of Law
Elisabeth S. Shellan Government Member Postal Regulatory Commission
Anne K. Small Government Member Securities and Exchange Commission
Peter L. Strauss Senior Fellow Columbia Law School
David Vladeck Senior Fellow Georgetown University Law Center
Richard E. Wiley Senior Fellow Wiley Rein LLP