Administration and Management

The Committee on Administration and Management considers issues that affect the efficiency and fairness of agencies’ operations, including their structure, accountability, and management of personnel, records, and other resources.

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair
Venable LLP
Committee Chair
Senior Fellow
IBM Center for the Business of Government
Staff Counsel

Committee Meetings & Events

Committee Research Projects

Twenty-five years ago, the Administrative Conference studied the potential for use of an ombudsman (or ombuds) in federal agency programs.  Recommendation 90-2 provided guidance for the...

Read more »

Recommendation 2016-1 – Consumer Complaint Databases encourages agencies that make consumer complaints publicly available through online databases or downloadable data...

Read more »

Recommendation 2011-3 – Government Contractor Ethics addresses the increasing use of contractors in government and asks the Federal Acquisition Regulation Council to...

Read more »

Statement # 18, Improving the Timeliness of OIRA Regulatory Review, highlights potential mechanisms for improving review times of rules under review by the Office of Information and...

Read more »

Committee Members

Name Role Organization
John F. Cooney Committee Chair, Senior Fellow Venable LLP
John M. Kamensky Committee Chair, Public Member IBM Center for the Business of Government
Scott G. Alvarez Government Member Federal Reserve Board
David J. Apol Government Member Office of Government Ethics
Warren Belmar Senior Fellow Capitol Counsel Group LLC
Jodie Bernstein Senior Fellow Kelley Drye & Warren
Marshall J. Breger Senior Fellow The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law
Amy P. Bunk Liaison Representative Office of the Federal Register
Viet D. Dinh Public Member Georgetown University
Bridget C. E. Dooling Government Member Office of Management and Budget
Kris E. Durmer Government Member General Services Administration
Fred F. Fielding Senior Fellow Morgan Lewis & Bockius
David C. Frederick Senior Fellow Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel, P.L.L.C.
Michael E. Horowitz Liaison Representative Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency
Edward Keable Government Member Department of the Interior
Chris Kirkpatrick Government Member Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Clara E. Kuehn Government Member International Trade Commission
Gillian E. Metzger Public Member Columbia Law School
Anne Joseph O'Connell Public Member UC Berkeley School of Law
Nina Olson Liaison Representative Internal Revenue Service Office of the National Taxpayer Advocate
Timothy Reif Liaison Representative Office of the U.S. Trade Representative
Alasdair S. Roberts Public Member Truman School of Public Affairs, University of Missouri
Kevin M. Simpson Government Member Department of Housing and Urban Development
Loren A. Smith Senior Fellow U.S. Court of Federal Claims
Max Stier Liaison Representative Partnership for Public Service
Robert S. Taylor Government Member Department of Defense
James J. Tozzi Public Member Center for Regulatory Effectiveness