The Committee on Adjudication examines procedural issues relating to how agencies handle cases that come before them, including issues arising in programs that handle very large caseloads.

Committee Contacts

Staff Counsel

Committee Meetings & Events

April 8, 2013 Committee Meeting(Committee on Adjudication)

April 8, 2013 - 2:00 pm EDT
Location name: 
Administrative Conference of the United States

Committee Research Projects


This project explores agencies’ use of administrative judges (AJs), which are used in hearings outside of those governed by the Administrative Procedure Act.  It studies the use of AJs across...

Read more »

The Conference is studying the use and incorporation of electronic case management in agency adjudication in order to make recommendations and share best practices.  Electronic case management is...

Read more »

This study comes out of the Federal Administrative Adjudication project and focuses on adjudication governed outside of the Administrative Procedure Act—commonly referred to as informal...

Read more »

Recommendation 2016-2 – Aggregate Agency Adjudication provides guidance to agencies on the use of aggregation techniques to resolve similar claims in adjudications.  It...

Read more »

Recommendation 2014-7 – Best Practices for Using Video Teleconferencing for Hearings offers practical guidance regarding how best to conduct video hearings, and addresses...

Read more »

Recommendation 2015-3 - Declaratory Orders identifies contexts in which agencies should consider the use of declaratory orders in administrative adjudications.  It also...

Read more »

Committee Members

Name Role Organization
Nadine Mancini Committee Chair, Government Member Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission
Eric S. Benderson Government Member Small Business Administration
Charles Center Liaison Representative Federal Labor Relations Authority
Anika Cooper Government Member Surface Transportation Board
Chai R. Feldblum Government Member Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Susan Tsui Grundmann Government Member Merit Systems Protection Board
Janice Hoffman Government Member Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Jean King Liaison Representative Executive Office for Immigration Review
Renée M. Landers Public Member Suffolk University Law School
Richard J. Leighton Senior Fellow Keller and Heckman LLP
Robert Lesnick Government Member Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission
Jeffrey S. Lubbers Special Counsel American University Washington College of Law
Thomas P. McCarthy Liaison Representative Federal Administrative Law Judges Conference
Susan A. Poling Liaison Representative Government Accountability Office
Arti K. Rai Public Member Duke University School of Law
Bob Schiff Government Member National Labor Relations Board
Thomas W. Snook Liaison Representative ABA National Conference of the Administrative Law Judiciary
John Vittone Senior Fellow
Christopher J. Walker Public Member The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law
Russell Wheeler Public Member The Governance Institute; Visiting Fellow – Brookings Institution’s Governance Studies Program
Tyler Wood Government Member Federal Maritime Commission
Marilyn Zahm Liaison Representative Association of Administrative Law Judges